Curriculum and Assessment Committee

2023 - 24 Members

Marion Broghaggen (F), Biology

Anu Singh-Cundy (W, S), Biology

Betsy Raymond, Chemistry

Shameem Ahmed, Computer Science

Sura Al-Qudah, Engineering and Design

Brady Foreman, Geology

Rick Barnard, Mathematics

Armin Rahmani, Physics & Astronomy and AMSEC

Alejandro Acevedo-Gutierrez, SMATE

Jackie Caplan-Auerbach, Chair


The Curriculum and Assessment Committee is the curricular governing body of the College of Science and Engineering.  The committee reports to PPBC and advises the Dean.


  1. Approves all academic courses, programs, and majors within the College\
  2. Makes recommendations to the Dean on curricular matters, including enhancing quality of programs, student outcomes, and efficiency.  
  3. Reviews and coordinates assessment procedures of the College, departments, AMSEC and SMATE.
  4. Collects assessment data from the College units and includes a summary of the data in the annual activity report.  
  5. Reports on annual activities to PPBC before the end of spring quarter each year.


  1. The faculty of each department and program (see below) in the College selects one member for the committee.  The member shall be a tenure-track or tenured faculty member and shall not be the departmental chair or program director.

    A center or group qualifies as a "program" for the purpose of membership when it meets the following criteria: (1) It includes faculty members from different departments with at least 75% of them housed in departments of the College and (2) it has its own criteria or processes for developing curriculum, for review of faculty performance, and/or for hiring tenure-track or non-tenure-track faculty.  The current programs in the College are the Science, Math, and Technology Education group (SMATE) and the Advanced Materials Science and Engineering Center (AMSEC).
  2. The term of service is two years, with approximately half of the membership selected each year.  No member shall serve more than six consecutive years.
  3. A majority of voting members shall constitute a quorum for all business of the committee.  The committee determines its own procedures and officers, typically designating a chair and at the start of the academic year.
  4. As delegated by the Dean, the Associate Dean is an ex-officio non-voting member of the committee.