College of Science & Engineering

Faculty

Alejandro Acevedo-Gutierrez

Professor

Alejandro.Acevedo-Gutierrez@wwu.edu

Office Hours: Winter 2020: M 15:30-16:00, R 13:00-13:30, F 10:30-11:00 h, and by appointment Biology 309
Alejandro poses in front of wooden wall
Role of marine mammals in their environment and their interactions with humans

Roger Anderson

Professor

Roger.Anderson@wwu.edu

Office Hours: BI 311
brown lizard with white and turquoise scales rests on gray rock

Shawn Arellano

Assistant Professor

Shawn.Arellano@wwu.edu

Office Hours: Wednesdays 3:00 -4:00, Fridays 11:30-12:30 Biology 137 and SPMC 143
Faculty member standing in a classroom with photographs on the wall

Elizabeth Binney

Senior Instructor

Elizabeth.Binney@wwu.edu

Office Hours: Winter 2020 M12-1 & R12-2 or by appointment BI 367
close up of sedge
Ecology, general biology, plant biology, biostatistics.

Marion Brodhagen

Professor

Marion.Brodhagen@wwu.edu

Office Hours: Mon 12:30 - 1:50; Wed 11:30 - 12:50 CB 282
Marion Brodhagen poses in front of Columbia River Gorge
1) Secondary metabolites; 2) biodegradable plastics

Lionel Brooks

Instructor

lionel.brooks@wwu.edu

Office Hours: T 11:50-1:50 BI 365
An illustration of a person on a gray background

Georgianne Connell

Senior Instructor

Georgianne.Connell@wwu.edu

Office Hours: Mondays 1:30-2:30 and Thursdays 10:30-11:30pm, also by appointment BIO 338
close up of Georgianne Connell, woman with brown hair and glasses
Biology education

Lina Dahlberg

Associate Professor

Lina.Dahlberg@wwu.edu

Office Hours: M 1-1 pm, T 12-1 pm, R 11am-12pm BI 306
profile of Lina Dahlberg, blurred wall with windows in background
Protein stability, turnover, and trafficking in neurons.

Eric DeChaine

Professor

Eric.DeChaine@wwu.edu

Office Hours: Biology 237
Eric Dechaine smiles for camera

Deborah Donovan

Professor

Deborah.Donovan@wwu.edu

Office Hours: BI 310
Deborah Donovan smiles for camera, blurred trees in background
Physiological ecology of marine invertebrates; Biology education

Nick Galati

Assistant professor

Nick.Galati@wwu.edu

Office Hours: Monday, 2:30-3:30; Thursday, 10:00-11:00 BI 331
Cilia and centrosome biology; Digital image analysis in microscopy

David Hooper

Professor

David.Hooper@wwu.edu

Office Hours: M 12-1; T 3-4; Th 2-3 BI 307
Ecosystem ecology, biodiversity effects on carbon and nitrogen cycles, plant

Robin Kodner

Associate Professor

Robin.Kodner@wwu.edu

Office Hours: M 1-3 in BI 412; F 10-11:30 CF 026 BI 412
Robin Kodner smiles, Bellingham Bay blurred in background

Janice Lapsansky

Senior Instructor

Janice.Lapsansky@wwu.edu

Office Hours: M 1-2 & Th 3-4, & by appt. Please reserve a time to meet on the sign-up sheet posted on my door. BI 305
Janice Lapsansky smiles in front of plants
STEM education. Pre-hospital medical research and quality assurance.

David Leaf

Professor

David.Leaf@wwu.edu

Office Hours: MWF 2:30-4:00 pm BI 147
Faculty member smiling while standing outside with a mountain in the background

Suzanne Lee

Assistant Professor

Suzanne.Lee@wwu.edu

Office Hours: By Appointment Biology 413
close up of Suzanne Lee with trees and plants in background
Control of eukaryotic gene expression; RNA biology and biochemistry

Benjamin Miner

Professor

Benjamin.Miner@wwu.edu

Office Hours: Wed 1-2 PM Biology 410
candid shot of Ben Miner kneeling while looking at someone
Evolutionary ecologist interested in phenotypic plasticity of marine organisms

Adam Moles

Instructor

Adam.Moles@wwu.edu

Office Hours: T, TH 11:30-5:00 BI 367
close up of Adam Moles smiling, white wall behind him

Craig Moyer

Professor

craig.moyer@wwu.edu

Office Hours: Posted for each course on Canvas and by appointment BI 406
Craig Moyer while working at sea using ROV Jason
Marine Microbial Ecology and Geomicrobiology

Brady Olson

Assistant Professor

Brady.Olson@wwu.edu

Office Hours: Monday 1PM-2PM, Friday 9:30AM-10:30AM, by appointment BI 366

Merrill Peterson

Professor and Chair

Merrill.Peterson@wwu.edu

Office Hours: Mon. 1-2pm, Wed. 2:30-3:30pm, and by appointment BI 314 (inside Biology Dept office)
Entomology; Ecology; Evolutionary Biology; Biodiversity Informatics

Lynn Pillitteri

Associate Professor

Lynn.Pillitteri@wwu.edu

Office Hours: BI 407
Lynn Pillitteri smiles while standing in front of plants
Plant molecular biology and development.

Dan Pollard

Assistant Professor

Dan.Pollard@wwu.edu

Office Hours: WI20: M 2:30-3pm, Tu 9:30-10:30am & 12:15-12:45pm, F 1:45-2:15pm BI 414
Evolutionary genetics of protein expression in budding yeasts

Sandra Schulze

Associate Professor

Sandra.Schulze@wwu.edu

Office Hours: By Appointment BI409
Sandra Schulze poses in front of bookshelf
Molecular biology and genetics using Drosophila as a model

Dietmar Schwarz

Associate Professor

Dietmar.Schwarz@wwu.edu

Office Hours: BI 411
Dietmar Schwarz in plaid shirt with mountains in background
Evolutionary Biology,Evolutionary Ecology, Molecular Ecology

Carrie Schwarz

Senior Instructor

Carrie.Schwarz@wwu.edu

Office Hours: Monday 11 am - 12:30 pm, Friday 10 am - 11:30 am and by appointment BI 157
An illustration of a person on a gray background

Jose Serrano-Moreno

Senior Instructor

Jose.Serrano-Moreno@wwu.edu

Office Hours: Tentative office hours Winter 2020: Tuesdays 3-5 PM BI161
Jose Serrano-Moreno smiles while standing in front of scribbled whiteboard
Biology Education; Student Advising; Structure and Function of Ion Channels

Myron Shekelle

Instructor

Myron.Shekelle@wwu.edu

Office Hours: M-W: 10-11, or by appointment BI 231

Anu Singh-Cundy

Associate Professor

Anu.Singh-Cundy@wwu.edu

Office Hours: MWF 1:00-2:00 pm BI 308
Anu Singh-Cundy

Dan van Hees

Instructor

dan.vanhees@wwu.edu

Office Hours: Monday 10:00-11:00am; Thursday 12:00-1:00pm BI 231
Seaweed physiology and ecology; chemical acclimation strategies; marine

Adrienne Wang

Assistant Professor

Adrienne.Wang@wwu.edu

Office Hours: Mon 2-3:30, Fri 9:30-11 BI312
black and white headshot of Adrenne Wang
Molecular mechanisms of aging and neurodegeneration

George Wilkinson

NTT Faculty

wilking@wwu.edu

Office Hours: T 2:30-4:30 and F 11:30-12:30 BI-365
An illustration of a person on a gray background

Michael Williams

Instructor

Mike.Williams@wwu.edu

Office Hours: Spring 2020: MW 1-2PM or by appointment Biology 231
Michael Williams tilts head and smiles, purple sky in background
Systematics of the Berberidaceae, ecological role of apomixis, restoration

Kate Yamamoto

Senior Instructor

Kate.Yamamoto@wwu.edu

Office Hours: T 12:30-1:30 PM, around a lot on lab days CV 163

Jeff Young

Professor

Jeff.Young@wwu.edu

Office Hours: Winter 2019. M&T: 11-11:50, W: 12-12:50 and by appointment CB 283
close up of Dr. Jeff Young with illustrated poster of "rhodophyceae" in background
Plant Physiology and Biochemistry

Matthew Zinkgraf

Assistant Professor

Matthew.Zinkgraf@wwu.edu

Office Hours: W20: M 12-1; T 3-4; W 1-2; Th 9-10; F 10-11 BI 408
close up of Matthew Zinkgraf with trees in background