Faculty

Alejandro Acevedo-Gutierrez

Professor
(360) 650-3653

Alejandro.Acevedo-Gutierrez@wwu.edu

Dr. Alejandro Acevedo-Gutierrez poses in front of wooden wall
Role of marine mammals in their environment and their interactions with humans

Roger Anderson

Professor
(360) 650-3992

Roger.Anderson@wwu.edu

brown lizard with white and turquoise scales rests on gray rock

Shawn Arellano

Adjunct Faculty
(360) 650-7400

Shawn.Arellano@wwu.edu

Faculty member standing in a classroom with photographs on the wall

Elizabeth Binney

Instructor
(360) 650-3627

elizabeth.binney@wwu.edu

close up of tall grass with cattail-like buds
Ecology, general biology, botany, biostatistics.

Marion Brodhagen

Associate Professor
(360) 650-2920

Marion.Brodhagen@wwu.edu

Marion Brodham poses in front of river and hill landscape
1) Secondary metabolites; 2) biodegradable plastics

Georgianne Connell

Senior Instructor
(360) 650-6796

Georgianne.Connell@wwu.edu

close up of Georgianne Connell, woman with brown hair and glasses
Biology education

Lina Dahlberg

Assistant Professor
(360) 650-4671

Lina.Dahlberg@wwu.edu

profile of Lina Dahlberg, blurred wall with windows in background
Protein stability, turnover, and trafficking in neurons.

Eric DeChaine

Professor
(360) 650-6575

Eric.DeChaine@wwu.edu

Eric Dechaine smiles for camera

Deborah Donovan

Professor
(360) 650-7251

Deborah.Donovan@wwu.edu

Deborah Donovan smiles for camera, blurred trees in background
Physiological ecology of marine invertebrates; Biology education

Anna Groat Carmona

Instructor
(360) 650-3634

Anna.Groat-Carmona@wwu.edu

Anna Groat Carmona, black-haired woman with dyed red streaks, poses in front of trees
Regulation of malaria liver-stage morphogenesis and development.

David Hooper

Professor
(360) 650-3649

David.Hooper@wwu.edu

David Hooper poses wearing a blue shirt in front of plants
Ecosystem ecology, biodiversity effects on carbon and nitrogen cycles, plant

Robin Kodner

Assistant Professor
(360) 650-7467

Robin.Kodner@wwu.edu

Robin Kodner smiles, Bellingham Bay blurred in background

Janice Lapsansky

Senior Instructor
(360) 650-7337

Janice.Lapsansky@wwu.edu

Janice Lapsansky smiles in front of plants
STEM education. Pre-hospital medical research and quality assurance.

David Leaf

Professor
(360) 650-3632

David.Leaf@wwu.edu

Faculty member smiling while standing outside with a mountain in the background

Suzanne Lee

Assistant Professor
(360) 650-6795

Suzanne.Lee@wwu.edu

close up of Suzanne Lee with trees and plants in background
Control of eukaryotic gene expression; RNA biology and biochemistry

Benjamin Miner

Professor
(360) 650-3640

Benjamin.Miner@wwu.edu

candid shot of Ben Miner kneeling while looking at someone
Evolutionary ecologist interested in phenotypic plasticity of marine organisms

Adam Moles

Instructor
(360) 650-7464

Adam.Moles@wwu.edu

close up of Adam Moles smiling, white wall behind him

Craig Moyer

Professor
(360) 650-7935

Craig.Moyer@wwu.edu

Craig Moyer smiles for camera while working on boat

Merrill Peterson

Professor and Chair
(360) 650-3636

Merrill.Peterson@wwu.edu

Entomology; Ecology; Evolutionary Biology; Biodiversity Informatics

Lynn Pillitteri

Associate Professor
(360) 650-6599

Lynn.Pillitteri@wwu.edu

Lynn Pillitteri smiles while standing in front of plants
Plant molecular biology and development.

Dan Pollard

Assistant Professor
(360) 650-2152

Dan.Pollard@wwu.edu

Evolutionary genetics of protein expression in budding yeasts

Sandra Schulze

Associate Professor
(360) 650-7267

schulzs4@biol.wwu.edu

Sandra Schulze poses in front of bookshelf
Molecular biology and genetics using Drosophila as a model

Carrie Schwarz

Senior Instructor
(360) 650-4523

Carrie.Schwarz@wwu.edu

An illustration of a person on a gray background

Dietmar Schwarz

Associate Professor
(360) 650-3641

Dietmar.Schwarz@wwu.edu

Dietmar Schwarz in plaid shirt with mountains in background
Evolutionary Biology,Evolutionary Ecology, Molecular Ecology

Jose Serrano-Moreno

Senior Instructor
(360) 650-3633

Jose.Serrano-Moreno@wwu.edu

Jose Serrano-Moreno smiles while standing in front of scribbled whiteboard
Biology Education; Student Advising; Structure and Function of Ion Channels

Anu Singh-Cundy

Associate Professor
(360) 650-7473

Anu.Singh-Cundy@wwu.edu

Anu Singh-Cundy poses in front of tall green plants

Thomas Unfried

Instructor
(360) 650-7464

Thomas.Unfried@wwu.edu

Thomas Unfried smiles at camera with brick building in background
Ecology, evolutionary biology, population biology, ornithology, statistics

Adrienne Wang

Assistant Professor
(360) 650-7484

Adrienne.Wang@wwu.edu

black and white headshot of Adrenne Wang

Michael Williams

Instructor
(360) 650-7464

Mike.Williams@wwu.edu

Michael Williams tilts head and smiles, purple sky in background
Systematics of the Berberidaceae, ecological role of apomixis, restoration

Kate Yamamoto

(360) 650-7464

Kate.Yamamoto@wwu.edu

close up profile of Kate Yamamoto

Jeff Young

Professor
(360) 650-3638

Jeff.Young@wwu.edu

close up of Dr. Jeff Young with illustrated poster of "rhodophyceae" in background
Plant Physiology and Biochemistry

Matthew Zinkgraf

Assistant Professor
(360) 650-4885

Matthew.Zinkgraf@wwu.edu

close up of Matthew Zinkgraf with trees in background