College of Science & Engineering

Faculty

Alejandro Acevedo-Gutierrez

Professor
(360) 650-3653

Alejandro.Acevedo-Gutierrez@wwu.edu

Office Hours: Fall 2019: T 11:00-11:30, 13:30-14:00; R 09:30-10:00 h, and by appointment Biology 309
Alejandro poses in front of wooden wall
Role of marine mammals in their environment and their interactions with humans

Roger Anderson

Professor
(360) 650-3992

Roger.Anderson@wwu.edu

Office Hours: BI 311
brown lizard with white and turquoise scales rests on gray rock

Shawn Arellano

Assistant Professor
(360) 650-3634

Shawn.Arellano@wwu.edu

Office Hours: Wednesdays 11:45-12:45, Fridays 12:15-1:15 Biology 137 and SPMC 143
Faculty member standing in a classroom with photographs on the wall

Elizabeth Binney

Senior Instructor

Elizabeth.Binney@wwu.edu

Office Hours: MTR 1:00-2:00+ or by appointment BI 365
close up of sedge
Ecology, general biology, plant biology, biostatistics.

Marion Brodhagen

Professor
(360) 650-2920

Marion.Brodhagen@wwu.edu

Office Hours: Fall 2019: Wed/Fri 10-10:50 CB 282
Marion Brodhagen poses in front of Columbia River Gorge
1) Secondary metabolites; 2) biodegradable plastics

Lionel Brooks

Instructor

Lionel.Brooks@wwu.edu

Office Hours: BI 236
An illustration of a person on a gray background

Georgianne Connell

Senior Instructor
(360) 650-6796

Georgianne.Connell@wwu.edu

Office Hours: Mondays 1:30-2:30 and Thursdays 10:30-11:30pm, also by appointment BIO 338
close up of Georgianne Connell, woman with brown hair and glasses
Biology education

Lina Dahlberg

Assistant Professor
(360) 650-4671

Lina.Dahlberg@wwu.edu

Office Hours: M 1-1 pm, T 12-1 pm, R 11am-12pm BI 306
profile of Lina Dahlberg, blurred wall with windows in background
Protein stability, turnover, and trafficking in neurons.

Eric DeChaine

Professor
(360) 650-6575

Eric.DeChaine@wwu.edu

Office Hours: Biology 237
Eric Dechaine smiles for camera

Deborah Donovan

Professor
(360) 650-7251

Deborah.Donovan@wwu.edu

Office Hours: BI 310
Deborah Donovan smiles for camera, blurred trees in background
Physiological ecology of marine invertebrates; Biology education

Nick Galati

Assistant professor
(360) 650-2869

Nick.Galati@wwu.edu

Office Hours: Monday, 2:30-3:30; Thursday, 9:00-10:00 BI 331
Cilia and centrosome biology; Digital image analysis in microscopy

David Hooper

Professor
(360) 650-3649

David.Hooper@wwu.edu

Office Hours: M 12-1; T 3-4; Th 2-3 BI 307
Ecosystem ecology, biodiversity effects on carbon and nitrogen cycles, plant

Robin Kodner

Associate Professor
(360) 650-7467

Robin.Kodner@wwu.edu

Office Hours: M 1-3 in BI 412; F 10-11:30 CF 026 BI 412
Robin Kodner smiles, Bellingham Bay blurred in background

Janice Lapsansky

Senior Instructor
(360) 650-7337

Janice.Lapsansky@wwu.edu

Office Hours: M 1-2 & W 11-12, & by appt. Please reserve a time to meet on the sign-up sheet posted on my door. BI 305
Janice Lapsansky smiles in front of plants
STEM education. Pre-hospital medical research and quality assurance.

David Leaf

Professor
(360) 650-3632

David.Leaf@wwu.edu

Office Hours: MWF 2:30-4:00 pm BI 147
Faculty member smiling while standing outside with a mountain in the background

Suzanne Lee

Assistant Professor
(360) 650-6795

Suzanne.Lee@wwu.edu

Office Hours: By Appointment Biology 413
close up of Suzanne Lee with trees and plants in background
Control of eukaryotic gene expression; RNA biology and biochemistry

Benjamin Miner

Professor
(360) 650-3640

Benjamin.Miner@wwu.edu

Office Hours: Wed 1-2 PM Biology 410
candid shot of Ben Miner kneeling while looking at someone
Evolutionary ecologist interested in phenotypic plasticity of marine organisms

Adam Moles

Instructor
(360) 650-7464

Adam.Moles@wwu.edu

Office Hours: T, TH 11:30-5:00 BI 367
close up of Adam Moles smiling, white wall behind him

Craig Moyer

Professor
(360) 650-7935

craig.moyer@wwu.edu

Office Hours: Posted for each course on Canvas and by appointment BI 406
Craig Moyer while working at sea using ROV Jason
Marine Microbial Ecology and Geomicrobiology

Brady Olson

Assistant Professor
(360) 650-7478

Brady.Olson@wwu.edu

Office Hours: Monday 9AM-11AM, by appointment BI 366

Merrill Peterson

Professor and Chair
(360) 650-3636

Merrill.Peterson@wwu.edu

Office Hours: Mon. 1-2pm, Wed. 2:30-3:30pm, and by appointment BI 314 (inside Biology Dept office)
Entomology; Ecology; Evolutionary Biology; Biodiversity Informatics

Lynn Pillitteri

Associate Professor
(360) 650-6599

Lynn.Pillitteri@wwu.edu

Office Hours: BI 407
Lynn Pillitteri smiles while standing in front of plants
Plant molecular biology and development.

Dan Pollard

Assistant Professor
(360) 650-2152

Dan.Pollard@wwu.edu

Office Hours: FA19: By Appointment BI 414
Evolutionary genetics of protein expression in budding yeasts

Sandra Schulze

Associate Professor
(360) 650-7267

Sandra.Schulze@wwu.edu

Office Hours: By Appointment BI409
Sandra Schulze poses in front of bookshelf
Molecular biology and genetics using Drosophila as a model

Dietmar Schwarz

Associate Professor
(360) 650-3641

Dietmar.Schwarz@wwu.edu

Office Hours: BI 411
Dietmar Schwarz in plaid shirt with mountains in background
Evolutionary Biology,Evolutionary Ecology, Molecular Ecology

Carrie Schwarz

Senior Instructor
(360) 650-4523

Carrie.Schwarz@wwu.edu

Office Hours: Monday 12 pm - 1:30 pm, Friday 10 am - 11:30 am and by appointment BI 157
An illustration of a person on a gray background

Jose Serrano-Moreno

Senior Instructor
(360) 650-3633

Jose.Serrano-Moreno@wwu.edu

Office Hours: Tentative office hours Fall 2019: T and F (10-11 AM) and R (1-2 PM) BI161
Jose Serrano-Moreno smiles while standing in front of scribbled whiteboard
Biology Education; Student Advising; Structure and Function of Ion Channels

Myron Shekelle

Instructor
(360) 650-7464

Myron.Shekelle@wwu.edu

Office Hours: M-T-W: 10-11, or by appointment BI 367

Anu Singh-Cundy

Associate Professor
(360) 650-7473

Anu.Singh-Cundy@wwu.edu

Office Hours: M 3:00 to 4:00 pm; TR 1:00 to 2:00 pm BI 308
Anu Singh-Cundy

Dan van Hees

Instructor
(360) 650-7400

dan.vanhees@wwu.edu

Office Hours: Tuesday 10:00am-12:00pm BI 231
Seaweed physiology and ecology; chemical acclimation strategies; marine

Adrienne Wang

Assistant Professor
(360) 650-7484

Adrienne.Wang@wwu.edu

Office Hours: Mon 2-3:30, Fri 9:30-11 BI312
black and white headshot of Adrenne Wang
Molecular mechanisms of aging and neurodegeneration

George Wilkinson

NTT Faculty

wilking@wwu.edu

Office Hours: T 2:30-4:30 and F 11:30-12:30 BI-365
An illustration of a person on a gray background

Kate Yamamoto

Senior Instructor
(360) 650-7464

Kate.Yamamoto@wwu.edu

Office Hours: T Th 12:30-1:30 PM; W and F as available in and out of lab (lab meets 8-12, 1-5PM) CV 163

Jeff Young

Professor
(360) 650-3638

Jeff.Young@wwu.edu

Office Hours: Winter 2019. M&T: 11-11:50, W: 12-12:50 and by appointment CB 283
close up of Dr. Jeff Young with illustrated poster of "rhodophyceae" in background
Plant Physiology and Biochemistry

Matthew Zinkgraf

Assistant Professor
(360) 650-4885

Matthew.Zinkgraf@wwu.edu

Office Hours: F19: M 1-2 & 3-4; W 3-4; Th 11-12 & 1-2; F 10-11 BI 408
close up of Matthew Zinkgraf with trees in background