Faculty

Alejandro Acevedo-Gutierrez

Professor
(360) 650-3653

Alejandro.Acevedo-Gutierrez@wwu.edu

Fall 2018: M 14:30-15:00; T 12:00-12:30, 13:30-14:00 h, and by appointment Biology 309
Dr. Alejandro Acevedo-Gutierrez poses in front of wooden wall
Role of marine mammals in their environment and their interactions with humans

Roger Anderson

Professor
(360) 650-3992

Roger.Anderson@wwu.edu

BI 311
brown lizard with white and turquoise scales rests on gray rock

Shawn Arellano

Assistant Professor
(360) 650-3634

shawn.arellano@wwu.edu

Biology 137 and SPMC 143
Faculty member standing in a classroom with photographs on the wall

Elizabeth Binney

Instructor

Elizabeth.Binney@wwu.edu

T & R 11:00 am - 12:00 pm (or by appointment) BI 231
close up of tall grass with cattail-like buds
Ecology, general biology, botany, biostatistics.

Marion Brodhagen

Associate Professor
(360) 650-2920

Marion.Brodhagen@wwu.edu

Fall 2018: Monday 1-3 pm CB 282
Marion Brodham poses in front of river and hill landscape
1) Secondary metabolites; 2) biodegradable plastics

Lionel Brooks

Instructor

lionel.brooks@wwu.edu

BI 236
An illustration of a person on a gray background

Georgianne Connell

Senior Instructor
(360) 650-6796

Georgianne.Connell@wwu.edu

Mondays 12:30-1:30pm and Thursdays 10:30-11:30pm BIO 338
close up of Georgianne Connell, woman with brown hair and glasses
Biology education

Lina Dahlberg

Assistant Professor
(360) 650-4671

Lina.Dahlberg@wwu.edu

BI 306
profile of Lina Dahlberg, blurred wall with windows in background
Protein stability, turnover, and trafficking in neurons.

Eric DeChaine

Professor
(360) 650-6575

Eric.DeChaine@wwu.edu

Biology 237
Eric Dechaine smiles for camera

Deborah Donovan

Professor
(360) 650-7251

Deborah.Donovan@wwu.edu

BI 310
Deborah Donovan smiles for camera, blurred trees in background
Physiological ecology of marine invertebrates; Biology education

Nick Galati

Assistant professor
(360) 650-2869

Nick.Galati@wwu.edu

BI 331
An illustration of a person on a gray background

David Hooper

Professor
(360) 650-3649

David.Hooper@wwu.edu

BI 307
David Hooper poses wearing a blue shirt in front of plants
Ecosystem ecology, biodiversity effects on carbon and nitrogen cycles, plant

Robin Kodner

Associate Professor
(360) 650-7467

Robin.Kodner@wwu.edu

BI 412
Robin Kodner smiles, Bellingham Bay blurred in background

Janice Lapsansky

Senior Instructor
(360) 650-7337

Janice.Lapsansky@wwu.edu

Please reserve a time to meet on the sign-up sheet posted on my door. BI 305
Janice Lapsansky smiles in front of plants
STEM education. Pre-hospital medical research and quality assurance.

David Leaf

Professor
(360) 650-3632

David.Leaf@wwu.edu

MWF 2:30-4:00 pm BI 147
Faculty member smiling while standing outside with a mountain in the background

Suzanne Lee

Assistant Professor
(360) 650-6795

Suzanne.Lee@wwu.edu

Biology 413
close up of Suzanne Lee with trees and plants in background
Control of eukaryotic gene expression; RNA biology and biochemistry

Benjamin Miner

Professor
(360) 650-3640

Benjamin.Miner@wwu.edu

Biology 410
candid shot of Ben Miner kneeling while looking at someone
Evolutionary ecologist interested in phenotypic plasticity of marine organisms

Adam Moles

Instructor
(360) 650-7464

Adam.Moles@wwu.edu

T, TH 11:30-5:00 BI 231 (spring only)
close up of Adam Moles smiling, white wall behind him

Craig Moyer

Professor
(360) 650-7935

Craig.Moyer@wwu.edu

T/R 10:30 to 11:30 and by appt BI 406
Craig Moyer smiles for camera while working on boat

Brady Olson

Assistant Professor
(360) 650-7478

Brady.Olson@wwu.edu

M,F 12:00PM-1:00PM, W 11:30AM-12:30PM BI 366

Merrill Peterson

Professor and Chair
(360) 650-3636

Merrill.Peterson@wwu.edu

Wed. 2:30-3:30 BI 314 (inside of Biology Dept office)
Entomology; Ecology; Evolutionary Biology; Biodiversity Informatics

Lynn Pillitteri

Associate Professor
(360) 650-6599

Lynn.Pillitteri@wwu.edu

BI 407
Lynn Pillitteri smiles while standing in front of plants
Plant molecular biology and development.

Dan Pollard

Assistant Professor
(360) 650-2152

Dan.Pollard@wwu.edu

FA18: Tu 1-2pm, Th 4pm, Fr 10:30am BI 414
Evolutionary genetics of protein expression in budding yeasts

Ralph Riley

Instructor
(360) 650-2844

Ralph.Riley@wwu.edu

BI 263
An illustration of a person on a gray background

Sandra Schulze

Associate Professor
(360) 650-7267

schulzs4@biol.wwu.edu

By Appointment BI409
Sandra Schulze poses in front of bookshelf
Molecular biology and genetics using Drosophila as a model

Dietmar Schwarz

Associate Professor
(360) 650-3641

Dietmar.Schwarz@wwu.edu

BI 411
Dietmar Schwarz in plaid shirt with mountains in background
Evolutionary Biology,Evolutionary Ecology, Molecular Ecology

Carrie Schwarz

Senior Instructor
(360) 650-4523

Carrie.Schwarz@wwu.edu

Monday 1 pm -2 pm, Wednesdays 10 am - 12 pm and by appointment BI 157
An illustration of a person on a gray background

Jose Serrano-Moreno

Senior Instructor
(360) 650-3633

Jose.Serrano-Moreno@wwu.edu

Fall 2018: Tuesday 2-4PM) , Thursday 3-4 PM, Friday 4-5 PM (TENTATIVE) BI161
Jose Serrano-Moreno smiles while standing in front of scribbled whiteboard
Biology Education; Student Advising; Structure and Function of Ion Channels

Myron Shekelle

Instructor
(360) 650-7464

Myron.Shekelle@wwu.edu

BI 263
An illustration of a person on a gray background

Anu Singh-Cundy

Associate Professor
(360) 650-7473

Anu.Singh-Cundy@wwu.edu

MF 11:00 am to 12:noon; R 1:00 pm to 2:00 pm BI 308
Anu Singh-Cundy in front of tall plants

Dan van Hees

Instructor
(360) 650-7400

Dan.vanHees@wwu.edu

Monday 10:30-12:30 BI 231

Adrienne Wang

Assistant Professor
(360) 650-7484

Adrienne.Wang@wwu.edu

Mon 2-3:30, Fri 9:30-11 BI312
black and white headshot of Adrenne Wang

Kate Yamamoto

Instructor
(360) 650-7464

Kate.Yamamoto@wwu.edu

W F 10-11 AM BI 161
close up profile of Kate Yamamoto

Jeff Young

Professor
(360) 650-3638

Jeff.Young@wwu.edu

CB 283
close up of Dr. Jeff Young with illustrated poster of "rhodophyceae" in background
Plant Physiology and Biochemistry

Matthew Zinkgraf

Assistant Professor
(360) 650-4885

Matthew.Zinkgraf@wwu.edu

BI 408
close up of Matthew Zinkgraf with trees in background