College of Science & Engineering

Mathematics Advising

Most incoming students will be required to take the Math Placement Test to be suitably placed in a math class. We are now using the ALEKS online math placement system, which includes modules for reviewing relevant material.

For information about navigating your degree program in mathematics, choose a link from the menu to the left to learn about declaring and evaluating majors and minors or graduating with excellence.

If you intend to complete a degree program in math you should seek out an advisor to discuss your plan of study and complete the necessary paperwork. A list of advisors is provided below.

Math Major Advisors                                    

Campus prefix: 360-650-ext

Transfer Credits

Arpad Benyi

BH 218

x3710

arpad.benyi@wwu.edu

Transfer Credits

Branko Curgus

BH 178

x3484

branko.curgus@wwu.edu

Correspondence Courses

Timothy Banham

BH 423

   X2296

banhamt@wwu.edu

Minor (Mathematics)

Tjalling Ypma

BH 202

x3785

tjalling.ypma@wwu.edu

Minor (Math – Sec Ed)

Jessica Cohen

BH 180

x3830

jessica.cohen@wwu.edu

Minor (Statistics)

Ramadha Piyadi Gamage

BH 182

x4955

ramadha.piyadigamage@wwu.edu

Secondary Math Ed

Jessica Cohen

BH 180

x3830

jessica.cohen@wwu.edu

Elementary Math Ed

Rebecca Borowski

BH 436    

   X4232

borowsr@wwu.edu

Applied Mathematics

Rick Barnard

BH 184B

x2334

rick.barnard@wwu.edu

Applied Mathematics

Tilmann Glimm

BH 228

x2933

tilmann.glimm@wwu.edu

Applied Mathematics

Jianying Zhang

BH 226

x7259

jianying.zhang@wwu.edu

Math-Biology

Tilmann Glimm

BH 228

x2933

tilmann.glimm@wwu.edu

Math-Chemistry (Sec Ed)

Jessica Cohen

BH 180

x3830

jessica.cohen@wwu.edu

Math-Computer Science

Tjalling Ypma

BH 202

x3785

tjalling.ypma@wwu.edu

Math-Economics

Tjalling Ypma

BH 202

x3785

tjalling.ypma@wwu.edu

Math-Physics (Sec Ed)

Jessica Cohen

BH 180

x3830

jessica.cohen@wwu.edu

General Studies

Jianying Zhang

BH 226

  x7259

jianying.zhang@wwu.edu

Graduate Advisor

Edoh Amiran

BH 220

x3487

edoh.amiran@wwu.edu

Statistics

Amy Anderson

BH 172

x3799

amy.anderson@wwu.edu

Statistics

Victor Chan

BH 176

x7260

victor.chan@wwu.edu

Statistics

Kimihiro Noguchi

BH 174

x2614

kimihiro.noguchi@wwu.edu

Statistics

Ramadha Piyadi Gamage

BH 182

x4955

ramadha.piyadigamage@wwu.edu

BS & BA Mathematics

Arpad Benyi

BH 218

x3710

arpad.benyi@wwu.edu

BS & BA Mathematics

Andrew Berget

BH 214

  x4510

andrew.berget@wwu.edu

BS & BA Mathematics

Branko Curgus

BH 178

x3484

branko.curgus@wwu.edu

BS & BA Mathematics

David Hartenstine

BH 190

x6520

david.hartenstine@wwu.edu

BS & BA Mathematics

Stephen McDowall

BH 186

x4272

stephen.mcdowall@wwu.edu

BS & BA Mathematics

Jeffrey Meier

BH 212

   X2988

meierj3@wwu.edu

BS & BA Mathematics

Adam Nyman

BH 232

x3464

adam.nyman@wwu.edu

BS & BA Mathematics

Yuan Pei

BH 188

   x3810

peiy@wwu.edu

BS & BA Mathematics

Amites Sarkar

BH 216

  x7569

Amites.Sarkar@wwu.edu

BS & BA Mathematics

Mariana Smit Vega Garcia

BH 230

x3454

mariana.smitvegagarcia@wwu.edu

BS & BA Mathematics

Stephanie Treneer

BH 206

x3468

stephanie.treneer@wwu.edu

BS & BA Mathematics

Jianying Zhang

BH 226

x7259

jianying.zhang@wwu.edu