College of Science & Engineering

Computer Science Faculty

Contact information for Computer Science Faculty
Namesort ascending Research Interests Contact
Dr. Jianna Zhang
Associate Professor

Robotics and Machine Learning

CF 481
By Appointment
(360) 650-3845
zhangj@wwu.edu
Photo of Jianna Zhang
Dr. Scott Wehrwein
Assistant Professor

Computer Vision, Computational Photography, Computer Graphics

CF 461
By Appointment
(360) 650-6327
wehrwes@wwu.edu
Photo of Scott Wehrwein
Dr. Michael Tsikerdekis
Assistant Professor

CyberSecurity, Social Computing, Online Deception, Machine Learning

CF 489
By Appointment
(360) 650-3968
tsikerm@wwu.edu
Photo of Michael Tsikerdekis
Dr. Moushumi Sharmin
Assistant Professor

Mobile Health (mHealth), Human-Computer Interaction (HCI), Interactive Visualization, Autism, Affective Computing 

CF 465
Tuesdays and Wednesdays from 2 - 3 pm or by appointment
(360) 650-2249
sharmim@wwu.edu
Photo of Moushumi Sharmin
Dr. Qiang Hao
Assistant Professor

Computing Education, Human-Computer Interaction, Learning Technologies

CF 457
12 - 1 pm MWF or by appointment
(360) 650-2622
qiangh@wwu.edu
A photo of Qiang Hao
Dr. Phil Nelson
Professor

Parallel and Distributed Computing, Software Systems, File Systems, Unix Programming, Mobile Devices

CF 471
By Appointment
(360) 650-3035
phil@wwu.edu
Photo of Phil Nelson
Dustin O'Hara
Instructor, Director of Internet Studies Center

Human-centered computing, values in design, and internet studies

CF 411
MWF 10:00-12:00pm, 2:00-4:00pm
(360) 650-4338
oharad@wwu.edu
Photo of Dustin O'Hara
Dr. Michael Meehan
Professor

Concurrency Theory, Distributed OS, Parallel Computing, Computer Networks, Computer and Network Security, Computational Science, Design and Implementation of High-level Languages

CF 473
By Appointment
(360) 650-3795
meehan@wwu.edu
Photo of Michael Meehan
Dr. Yudong Liu
Associate Professor & Graduate Program Advisor

Natural Language Processing, Information Extraction, and Application of Eye-tracking Data

CF 483
Tuesdays, Wednesdays, & Thursdays from 4 – 5 pm or by appointment
(360) 650-4831
liuy2@wwu.edu
Photo of Yudong Liu
Dr. Filip Jagodzinski
Associate Professor & Transfer Student Advisor

Computational Structural Biology, Big Data, Intelligent Information Systems

CF 467
Mondays and Wednesdays from 9 - 10 am or by appointment
(360) 650-3800
jagodzf@wwu.edu
Dr. Tarek Idriss
Assistant Professor

Lightweight Security, Machine Learning and Internet of Things

CF 485
MT 10:30-12:00pm
(360) 650-4221
idrisst@wwu.edu
Dr. Brian Hutchinson
Associate Professor

Speech and Language Processing, Machine Learning and Optimization

CF 475
By Appointment
(360) 650-4894
hutchib2@wwu.edu
Photo of Brian Hutchinson
Dr. James Hearne
Professor

Data Mining, Computational Linguistics, Artificial Intelligence, Computer Music

CF 455A
Monday through Thursday from 4 to 5 pm or by appointment
(360) 650-3792
hearne@wwu.edu
Photo of James Hearne
Dr. Caroline Hardin
Assistant Professor

Computer Science Education and Digital Privacy

CF 463
W 2:00-4:00pm and by appointment
(360) 650-3601
Caroline.Hardin@wwu.edu
Photo of Caroline Hardin
Susheel Gopalan
Instructor

Real-time Embedded Systems, Fundamental Scientific and Technological Innovations

CF 409
By Appointment
(360) 650-2098
Susheel.Gopalan@wwu.edu
Photo of Susheel Gopalan
Dr. Erik Fretheim
Director, Cybersecurity Program

Cyber Warfare, Cyber Defense, Cyber Ethics

CF 487
By Appointment
(360) 650-6879
frethee@wwu.edu
Photo of Erik Fretheim
Dr. Perry Fizzano
Professor & Department Chair

Optimization, Algorithms, Scheduling, Bioinformatics

CF 493
MWR 2:00-3:00pm and by Appointment
(360) 650-3807
fizzanp@wwu.edu
Photo of Perry Fizzano
Dr. Wesley Deneke
Assistant Professor

Computer Graphics, Pervasive Computing, and Artificial Intelligence. 

CF 479
Mondays and Wednesdays from 2:30 – 3:20 pm or by appointment
(360) 650-6160
Wesley.Deneke@wwu.edu
Photo of Welsey Deneke
Justice Banson
Instructor

Multimedia, Web design and Development

CF 409
By Appointment
(360) 650-4009
Justice.Banson@wwu.edu
Photo of Justice Banson
Dr. Aran Clauson
Instructor

Search-based and Compiler Optimization, Operating Systems and Embedded systems.

CF 411
By Appointment
(360) 650-3819
Aran.Clauson@wwu.edu
Photo of Aran Clauson
Dr. Shameem Ahmed
Assistant Professor

mHealth, Mobile Computing, Information and Communication Technology for Development (ICTD), Human Computer Interaction (HCI) 

CF 491
Tuesdays and Thursdays from 12:10 - 1 pm or by appointment
(360) 650-2624
ahmeds@wwu.edu
Photo of Shameem Ahmed