Computer Science Faculty

Name Research Interests Contact
Dr. Shameem Ahmed
Assistant Professor

mHealth, Mobile Computing, Information and Communication Technology for Development (ICTD), Human Computer Interaction (HCI) 

CF 491
TW 11 am - 12 pm
(360) 650-2624
Shameem.Ahmed@wwu.edu
Justice Banson
Instructor

Multimedia, Web design and Development

CF 409
MWF 3 - 4 pm
(360) 650-4009
Justice.Banson@wwu.edu
Dr. David Bover
Professor

Computer security

CF 477
MTWR 1 - 2 pm
(360) 650-3798
David.Bover@wwu.edu
Dr. Aran Clauson
Instructor

Search-based and Compiler Optimization. Operating Systems and embedded systems.

CF 411
MWF 1 - 2 pm
(360) 650-3819
Aran.Clauson@wwu.edu
Dr. Erin Colvin
Instructor

Information Retrieval; Fuzzy Logic; Software Engineering; Augmented Reality; Virtual Reality; Robotics; 

 

CF 409
MWF 10 am - 1 pm
(360) 650-2625
Erin.Colvin@wwu.edu
Dr. Wesley Deneke
Assistant Professor

His research interests include computer graphics, pervasive computing, and artificial intelligence. 

CF 479
MTW 3 - 4:30 pm
(360) 650-6160
Wesley.Deneke@wwu.edu
Dr. Perry Fizzano
Professor & Department Chair

Optimization, algorithms, scheduling, bioinformatics

CF 493
MW 11:30 am - 12:30 pm, F 10 - 11 am
(360) 650-3807
Perry.Fizzano@wwu.edu
Dr. Erik Fretheim
Director, Computer Information & Systems Security Pgm

Cyber Warfare, Cyber Defense, Cyber Ethics

CF 487
MWF 1 - 2 pm
(360) 650-6879
Erik.Fretheim@wwu.edu
Susheel Gopalan
Instructor

Real time embedded systems, Fundamental scientific and technological innovations

CF 409
MTW 11 am - 1 pm
(360) 650-2098
Susheel.Gopalan@wwu.edu
Dr. Qiang Hao
Assistant Professor

computer science education, educational data mining, and intelligent tutor systems

CF 457
11:55 am - 12:55 pm MWF
(360) 650-2622
Qiang.Hao@wwu.edu
Dr. James Hearne
Professor

Data mining, computational linguistics, artificial intelligence, computer music

CF 455A
(360) 650-3792
James.Hearne@wwu.edu
Dr. Brian Hutchinson
Assistant Professor

Speech and language processing, machine learning and optimization.

CF 475
T 3:30 - 4:00 pm, W 8:30 - 9:00 am, F 1:00 - 1:30 pm
(360) 650-4894
Brian.Hutchinson@wwu.edu
Dr. Tanzima Islam
Assistant Professor

High performance/throughput computing, parallel computing, performance analysis, fault-tolerance, power-aware resilience

CF 463
M 1 – 2 pm, W 10 – 11 am, R 11 am – 12 pm
(360) 650-3601
Tanzima.Islam@wwu.edu
Dr. Filip Jagodzinski
Assistant Professor

Computational structural biology, big data, integrated information systems

CF 461
MW 12 - 12:50 pm
(360) 650-3800
Filip.Jagodzinski@wwu.edu
Dr. James Johnson
Professor & Transfer Advisor

 Probabilistic algorithms

CF 467
MWF 9 - 10 am
(360) 650-3967
James.Johnson@wwu.edu
Dr. Yudong Liu
Assistant Professor

Natural Language Processing, Information Extraction, and Application of Eye-tracking data.

CF 483
MWF 4:00 – 5:00 pm
(360) 650-4831
Yudong.Liu@wwu.edu
Dr. Geoffrey Matthews
Professor

Scientific computing, games, and graphics

CF 469
MWF 2 pm
(360) 650-3797
Geoffrey.Matthews@wwu.edu
Dr. Michael Meehan
Professor

Concurrency theory, distributed OS, parallel computing, computer networks, computer and network security, computational science, and design and implementation of high-level languages

CF 473
MTRF 2:30 - 3:30 pm
(360) 650-3795
Michael.Meehan@wwu.edu
Dr. Phil Nelson
Professor & Master's Program Adviser

Parallel and distributed computing, software systems, file systems, Unix programming, mobile devices

CF 471
MTW 3 - 4 pm
(360) 650-3035
Phil.Nelson@wwu.edu
Dr. Christopher Reedy
Senior Instructor

Software Development / Engineering

CF 463
MWF 10 - 11 am
(360) 650-4838
Christopher.Reedy@wwu.edu
Chris Reedy
Dr. Julian Rrushi
Assistant Professor

Industrial control systems security, malware/spyware detection and reverse engineering, cryptology, steganography, and defensive cyber deception.

CF 485
MTWF 1 - 2 pm
(360) 650-4221
Julian.Rrushi@wwu.edu
Dr. Moushumi Sharmin
Assistant Professor

Mobile Health (mHealth), Human-Computer Interaction (HCI), Interactive Visualization, Autism  

CF 465
TW 9:10 - 10 am, W 3:15 - 4 pm
(360) 650-2249
Moushumi.Sharmin@wwu.edu
Dr. Michael Tsikerdekis
Assistant Professor

CyberSecurity, Social Computing, Online Deception, Machine Learning

CF 489
MT 10 - 11 am, WF 10 - 10:30 am
(360) 650-3968
Michael.Tsikerdekis@wwu.edu
Dr. Jianna Zhang
Associate Professor

Robotics and Machine Learning

CF 481
MTF 3 - 4 pm
(360) 650-3845
Jianna.Zhang@wwu.edu