Computer Science Faculty

Name Research Interests Contact
Dr. Shameem Ahmed
Assistant Professor

mHealth, Mobile Computing, Information and Communication Technology for Development (ICTD), Human Computer Interaction (HCI) 

CF 491
By appt. only during summer
(360) 650-2624
Shameem.Ahmed@wwu.edu
Dr. David Bover
Professor

Computer security

CF 477
By appt. only during summer
(360) 650-3798
David.Bover@wwu.edu
Dr. Aran Clauson
Instructor

Search-based and Compiler Optimization. Operating Systems and embedded systems.

CF 489
By appt. only during summer
(360) 650-3819
Aran.Clauson@wwu.edu
Dr. Erin Colvin
Instructor

Information Retrieval; Fuzzy Logic; Software Engineering; Augmented Reality; Virtual Reality; Robotics; 

 

CF 499
By appt. only during summer
(360) 650-2625
Erin.Colvin@wwu.edu
Dr. Wesley Deneke
Assistant Professor
Wesley.Deneke@wwu.edu
Dr. Perry Fizzano
Associate Professor & Department Chair

Optimization, algorithms, scheduling, bioinformatics

CF 493
By appt. only during summer
(360) 650-3807
Perry.Fizzano@wwu.edu
Dr. Erik Fretheim
Director, Computer Information & Systems Security Pgm

Cyber Warfare, Cyber Defense, Cyber Ethics

CF 487
By appt. only during summer
(360) 650-6879
Erik.Fretheim@wwu.edu
Amelia Garripoli
Instructor
Amelia.Garripoli@wwu.edu
Susheel Gopalan
Instructor
Susheel.Gopalan@wwu.edu
Dr. Qiang Hao
Assistant Professor
Qiang.Hao@wwu.edu
Dr. James Hearne
Professor

Data mining, computational linguistics, artificial intelligence, computer music

CF 479
By appt. only during summer
(360) 650-3792
James.Hearne@wwu.edu
Dr. Brian Hutchinson
Assistant Professor

Speech and language processing, machine learning and optimization.

CF 475
By appt. only during summer
(360) 650-4894
Brian.Hutchinson@wwu.edu
Dr. Tanzima Islam
Assistant Professor
Tanzima.Islam@wwu.edu
Dr. Filip Jagodzinski
Assistant Professor

Computational structural biology, big data, integrated information systems

CF 461
By appt. only during summer
(360) 650-3800
Filip.Jagodzinski@wwu.edu
Dr. James Johnson
Professor

 Probabilistic algorithms

CF 467
By appt. only during summer
(360) 650-3967
James.Johnson@wwu.edu
Dr. Yudong Liu
Assistant Professor

Natural Language Processing, Information Extraction, and Application of Eye-tracking data.

CF 483
MTW 3:30 - 4:30 pm
(360) 650-4831
Yudong.Liu@wwu.edu
Dr. Geoffrey Matthews
Professor

Scientific computing, games, and graphics

CF 469
By appt. only during summer
(360) 650-3797
Geoffrey.Matthews@wwu.edu
Dr. Michael Meehan
Professor

Concurrency theory, distributed OS, parallel computing, computer networks, computer and network security, computational science, and design and implementation of high-level languages

CF 473
By appt. only during summer
(360) 650-3795
Michael.Meehan@wwu.edu
Raymond Montgomery
Instructor
CF 299
(360) 650-2625
Raymond.Montgomery@wwu.edu
Dr. Phil Nelson
Associate Professor

Parallel and distributed computing, software systems, file systems, Unix programming, mobile devices

CF 471
By appt. only during summer
(360) 650-3035
Phil.Nelson@wwu.edu
Dr. Christopher Reedy
Senior Instructor

Software Development / Engineering

CF 463
By appt. only during summer
(360) 650-4838
Christopher.Reedy@wwu.edu
Chris Reedy
Dr. Julian Rrushi
Assistant Professor

Industrial control systems security, malware/spyware detection and reverse engineering, cryptology, steganography, and defensive cyber deception.

CF 485
By appt. only during summer
(360) 650-4221
Julian.Rrushi@wwu.edu
Dr. Moushumi Sharmin
Assistant Professor

Human-computer interaction, information visualization, mobile health, privacy

CF 465
TR 10 - 10 :50 am
(360) 650-2249
Moushumi.Sharmin@wwu.edu
Dr. Michael Tsikerdekis
Assistant Professor
CF 489
(360) 650-3819
Michael.Tsikerdekis@wwu.edu
Dr. Jianna Zhang
Associate Professor

Robotics and Machine Learning

CF 481
By appt. only during summer
(360) 650-3845
Jianna.Zhang@wwu.edu