Computer Science Faculty

Name Research Interests Contact
Dr. Shameem Ahmed
Assistant Professor

mHealth, Mobile Computing, Information and Communication Technology for Development (ICTD), Human Computer Interaction (HCI) 

CF 491
MF 3 - 3:50 pm, W 12 - 12:50 pm
(360) 650-2624
Shameem.Ahmed@wwu.edu
Dr. Shameem Ahmed
Justice Banson
Instructor

Multimedia, Web design and Development

CF 409
MWF 3 - 4 pm
Justice.Banson@wwu.edu
Justice Banson
Dr. David Bover
Professor

Computer security

CF 477
MTWF 2 - 2:50 pm
(360) 650-3798
David.Bover@wwu.edu
Dr. David Bover
Dr. Aran Clauson
Instructor

Search-based and Compiler Optimization. Operating Systems and embedded systems.

CF 411
TWF 12:30 pm
(360) 650-3819
Aran.Clauson@wwu.edu
Dr. Aran Clauson
Dr. Erin Colvin
Instructor

Information Retrieval; Fuzzy Logic; Software Engineering; Augmented Reality; Virtual Reality; Robotics; 

 

CF 409
MWF 10 am - 12:30 pm
(360) 650-2625
Erin.Colvin@wwu.edu
Dr. Erin Colvin
Dr. Wesley Deneke
Assistant Professor

His research interests include computer graphics, pervasive computing, and artificial intelligence. 

CF 479
MWF 1 - 2 pm
(360) 650-6160
Wesley.Deneke@wwu.edu
Dr. Wesley Deneke
Dr. Perry Fizzano
Professor & Department Chair

Optimization, algorithms, scheduling, bioinformatics

CF 493
MT 2 - 3 pm, R 2:30 - 3:30 pm
(360) 650-3807
Perry.Fizzano@wwu.edu
Dr. Perry Fizzano
Dr. Erik Fretheim
Director, Computer Information & Systems Security Pgm

Cyber Warfare, Cyber Defense, Cyber Ethics

CF 487
MWF 10 - 11 am
(360) 650-6879
Erik.Fretheim@wwu.edu
Dr. Erik Fretheim
Susheel Gopalan
Instructor

Real time embedded systems, Fundamental scientific and technological innovations

CF 409
TBD
(360) 650-2098
Susheel.Gopalan@wwu.edu
Photo of Susheel Gopalan
Dr. Qiang Hao
Assistant Professor

computing education

CF 457
1:55-2:55 pm MWF
(360) 650-2622
Qiang.Hao@wwu.edu
Dr. Qiang Hao
Dr. James Hearne
Professor

Data mining, computational linguistics, artificial intelligence, computer music

CF 455A
MTW 11 am - 12 pm
(360) 650-3792
James.Hearne@wwu.edu
Dr. James Hearne
Dr. Brian Hutchinson
Assistant Professor

Speech and language processing, machine learning and optimization.

CF 475
M 12:30 - 1 pm, T 4 - 4:30 pm, W 2:30 - 3 pm, F 1 - 1:30 pm
(360) 650-4894
Brian.Hutchinson@wwu.edu
Dr. Brian Hutchinson
Dr. Tanzima Islam
Assistant Professor

High performance/throughput computing, parallel computing, performance analysis, fault-tolerance, power-aware resilience

CF 463
T 11 am - 12:30 pm, R 12 - 1 pm, F 10 - 11 am
(360) 650-3601
Tanzima.Islam@wwu.edu
Dr. Tanzima Islam
Dr. Filip Jagodzinski
Assistant Professor

Computational structural biology, big data, intelligent information systems

CF 461
M 9 - 10 am, W 2 - 3 pm
(360) 650-3800
Filip.Jagodzinski@wwu.edu
Dr. Filip Jagodzinski
Dr. Yudong Liu
Assistant Professor

Natural Language Processing, Information Extraction, and Application of Eye-tracking data.

CF 483
MWF 3 - 4 pm
(360) 650-4831
Yudong.Liu@wwu.edu
Dr. Yudong Liu
Dr. Geoffrey Matthews
Professor

Scientific computing, games, and graphics

CF 469
MTWF 10 - 10:50 am
(360) 650-3797
Geoffrey.Matthews@wwu.edu
Dr. Geoffrey Matthews
Dr. Michael Meehan
Professor

Concurrency theory, distributed OS, parallel computing, computer networks, computer and network security, computational science, and design and implementation of high-level languages

CF 473
F 1 - 4 pm
(360) 650-3795
Michael.Meehan@wwu.edu
Dr. Michael Meehan
Dr. Phil Nelson
Professor & Master's Program Adviser

Parallel and distributed computing, software systems, file systems, Unix programming, mobile devices

CF 471
MWF 2 pm
(360) 650-3035
Phil.Nelson@wwu.edu
Dr. Phil Nelson
Dr. Christopher Reedy
Senior Instructor

Software Development / Engineering

CF 411
TBD
(360) 650-4838
Christopher.Reedy@wwu.edu
Dr. Chris Reedy
Dr. Julian Rrushi CF 485
MTWF, 12:50-1:50pm, or by appointment.
(360) 650-4221
Julian.Rrushi@wwu.edu
An illustration of a person on a gray background
Dr. Moushumi Sharmin
Assistant Professor

Mobile Health (mHealth), Human-Computer Interaction (HCI), Interactive Visualization, Autism  

CF 465
M 3 - 3:50 pm, W 2 - 2:50 pm, F 3 - 3:50 pm
(360) 650-2249
Moushumi.Sharmin@wwu.edu
Dr. Moushumi Sharmin
Dr. Michael Tsikerdekis
Assistant Professor

CyberSecurity, Social Computing, Online Deception, Machine Learning

CF 489
TBD
(360) 650-3968
Michael.Tsikerdekis@wwu.edu
Dr. Michael Tsikerdekis
Dr. Jianna Zhang
Associate Professor

Robotics and Machine Learning

CF 481
TWF 3 - 4 pm
(360) 650-3845
Jianna.Zhang@wwu.edu
Dr. Jianna Zhang