Computer Science Faculty

Name Research Interests Contact
Dr. Shameem Ahmed
Assistant Professor

mHealth, Mobile Computing, Information and Communication Technology for Development (ICTD), Human Computer Interaction (HCI) 

CF 491
MWF 12:10 – 1 pm
(360) 650-2624
Shameem.Ahmed@wwu.edu
Dr. Shameem Ahmed
Justice Banson
Instructor

Multimedia, Web design and Development

CF 409
MWF 3 - 4 pm
(360) 650-4009
Justice.Banson@wwu.edu
A photo of justice banson
Dr. Aran Clauson
Instructor

Search-based and Compiler Optimization, Operating Systems and Embedded systems.

CF 411
MWF 1 - 1:50 pm
(360) 650-3819
Aran.Clauson@wwu.edu
Professor Clauson wearing a brown hat standing in front of green pine trees
Dr. Erin Colvin
Instructor

Information Retrieval, Fuzzy Logic, Software Engineering, Augmented Reality, Virtual Reality, Robotics 

 

CF 409
MWF 11 am - 1 pm
(360) 650-2625
Erin.Colvin@wwu.edu
Dr. Erin Colvin
Dr. Wesley Deneke
Assistant Professor

Computer Graphics, Pervasive Computing, and Artificial Intelligence. 

CF 479
MWF 1 - 2 pm
(360) 650-6160
Wesley.Deneke@wwu.edu
A photo of Wes Deneke
Dr. Perry Fizzano
Professor & Department Chair

Optimization, Algorithms, Scheduling, Bioinformatics

CF 493
MWF 10:30 - 11:30 am
(360) 650-3807
Perry.Fizzano@wwu.edu
A photo of Perry Fizzano
Dr. Erik Fretheim
Director, Cybersecurity Program

Cyber Warfare, Cyber Defense, Cyber Ethics

CF 487
MWF 1 - 2 pm
(360) 650-6879
Erik.Fretheim@wwu.edu
Dr. Erik Fretheim
Susheel Gopalan
Instructor

Real-time Embedded Systems, Fundamental Scientific and Technological Innovations

CF 409
MT 11 am – 12 pm, W 9 - 10 am, & MF 2 - 3 pm for senior projects
(360) 650-2098
Susheel.Gopalan@wwu.edu
Photo of Susheel Gopalan
Dr. Qiang Hao
Assistant Professor

Computing Education

CF 457
MWF 2 - 3 pm
(360) 650-2622
Qiang.Hao@wwu.edu
A photo of Qiang Hao
Dr. James Hearne
Professor

Data Mining, Computational Linguistics, Artificial Intelligence, Computer Music

CF 455A
MTW 2 - 3 pm
(360) 650-3792
James.Hearne@wwu.edu
Professor Hearne wearing a felt panama hat
Dr. Brian Hutchinson
Associate Professor

Speech and Language Processing, Machine Learning and Optimization

CF 475
(360) 650-4894
Brian.Hutchinson@wwu.edu
Dr. Brian Hutchinson
Dr. Tanzima Islam
Assistant Professor

High Performance/throughput Computing, Parallel Computing, Performance Analysis, Fault-tolerance, Power-aware Resilience

CF 463
M: 9 - 9:30 am, T: 11:30 am - 12 pm, R: 12 - 12:30 pm
(360) 650-3601
Tanzima.Islam@wwu.edu
Dr. Tanzima Islam
Dr. Filip Jagodzinski
Associate Professor & Transfer Student Advisor

Computational Structural Biology, Big Data, Intelligent Information Systems

CF 467
M 10 - 11 am, W 2 - 3 pm
(360) 650-3800
Filip.Jagodzinski@wwu.edu
A photo of Filip Jagodzinski
Dr. Yudong Liu
Associate Professor & Graduate Program Advisor

Natural Language Processing, Information Extraction, and Application of Eye-tracking Data

CF 483
MWF 2 - 3 pm
(360) 650-4831
Yudong.Liu@wwu.edu
A photo of Yudong Liu
Dr. Geoffrey Matthews
Professor

Scientific Computing, Games, and Graphics

CF 469
MWF 9 - 9:50 am
(360) 650-3797
Geoffrey.Matthews@wwu.edu
A photo of Geoffrey Matthews with Watson Lake behind him in the North Cascades.
Dr. Michael Meehan
Professor

Concurrency Theory, Distributed OS, Parallel Computing, Computer Networks, Computer and Network Security, Computational Science, Design and Implementation of High-level Languages

CF 473
MWRF 2 - 3 pm
(360) 650-3795
Michael.Meehan@wwu.edu
A man standing in front of water wearing sunglasses
Dr. Phil Nelson
Professor

Parallel and Distributed Computing, Software Systems, File Systems, Unix Programming, Mobile Devices

CF 471
MWF 2 - 3 pm
(360) 650-3035
Phil.Nelson@wwu.edu
Dr. Phil Nelson
Dr. Moushumi Sharmin
Assistant Professor

Mobile Health (mHealth), Human-Computer Interaction (HCI), Interactive Visualization, Autism  

CF 465
T 11:30 am – 12:50 pm, F 12 – 1:20 pm
(360) 650-2249
Moushumi.Sharmin@wwu.edu
Dr. Michael Tsikerdekis
Assistant Professor

CyberSecurity, Social Computing, Online Deception, Machine Learning

CF 489
MTWF 10 - 10:50 am
(360) 650-3968
Michael.Tsikerdekis@wwu.edu
Dr. Michael Tsikerdekis
Dr. Scott Wehrwein
Assistant Professor

Computer Vision, Computational Photography, Computer Graphics

CF 461
M 2 - 3:30 pm, W 11 am - 12 pm, F 2 - 3 pm
(360) 650-6327
Scott.Wehrwein@wwu.edu
Dr. Jianna Zhang
Associate Professor

Robotics and Machine Learning

CF 481
MF 3 - 4 pm
(360) 650-3845
Jianna.Zhang@wwu.edu
Professor Zhang sitting in her office in front of a series of plants