Computer Science Faculty

Name Research Interests Contact
Shameem Ahmed
Assistant Professor

Information and Communication Technology for Development (ICTD), Human Computer Interaction (HCI), mHealth, Mobile Computing

CF 491
MTF 11 - 11:50 AM
(360) 650-2624
Shameem.Ahmed@wwu.edu
Dr. David Bover
Professor

Computer security

CF 477
MTWF 1 - 2 PM
(360) 650-3798
David.Bover@wwu.edu
Dr. Aran Clauson
Instructor

Search-based and Compiler Optimization. Operating Systems and embedded systems.

CF 489
TF 2 - 3 PM, & R 11 AM - 12 PM
(360) 650-3819
Aran.Clauson@wwu.edu
Dr. Perry Fizzano
Associate Professor & Department Chair

Optimization, algorithms, scheduling, bioinformatics

CF 493
MT 12:30—1:30 PM, & R 2:30—3:30 PM
(360) 650-3807
Perry.Fizzano@wwu.edu
Erik Fretheim
Director, Computer Information & Systems Security Pgm

Cyber Warfare, Cyber Defense, Cyber Ethics

CF 487
MWR 11 AM - 12 PM
(360) 650-6879
Erik.Fretheim@wwu.edu
Dr. James Hearne
Professor

Data mining, computational linguistics, artificial intelligence, computer music

CF 479
MTW 11 AM - 12 PM
(360) 650-3792
James.Hearne@wwu.edu
Dr. Brian Hutchinson
Assistant Professor

Speech and language processing, machine learning and optimization.

CF 475
MF 3 – 3:30 PM; T 1 – 1:30 PM; W 9 – 9:30 AM; R 3 – 3:30 PM
(360) 650-4894
Brian.Hutchinson@wwu.edu
Dr. Filip Jagodzinski
Assistant Professor

Computational structural biology, big data, integrated information systems

CF 461
MTW 11 – 11:50 AM
(360) 650-3800
Filip.Jagodzinski@wwu.edu
Dr. James Johnson
Professor

 Probabilistic algorithms

CF 467
MWF 10 —11 AM
(360) 650-3967
James.Johnson@wwu.edu
Dr. Yudong Liu
Assistant Professor

Current research including Information Extraction, and Eye-tracking for User Authentication.

CF 483
MWF 3 - 4 PM
(360) 650-4831
Yudong.Liu@wwu.edu
Dr. Geoffrey Matthews
Professor

Scientific computing, games, and graphics

CF 469
MTWF 10—11
(360) 650-3797
Geoffrey.Matthews@wwu.edu
Dr. Michael Meehan
Professor

Concurrency theory, distributed OS, parallel computing, computer networks, computer and network security, computational science, and design and implementation of high-level languages

CF 473
MWTF 2:30 – 3:30 PM
(360) 650-3795
Michael.Meehan@wwu.edu
Dr. Phil Nelson
Associate Professor

Parallel and distributed computing, software systems, file systems, Unix programming, mobile devices

CF 471
MWF 1—2 PM
(360) 650-3035
Phil.Nelson@wwu.edu
Dr. Christopher Reedy
Senior Instructor

Software Development / Engineering

CF 463
MWF 1 - 1:50 PM
(360) 650-4838
Christopher.Reedy@wwu.edu
Chris Reedy
Dr. Julian Rrushi
Assistant Professor

Industrial control systems security, malware/spyware detection and reverse engineering, cryptology, steganography, and defensive cyber deception.

CF 485
MWF 2 - 3 PM
(360) 650-4221
Julian.Rrushi@wwu.edu
Dr. Moushumi Sharmin
Assistant Professor

Human-computer interaction, information visualization, mobile health, privacy

CF 465
TW 10 - 10:50 AM
(360) 650-2249
Moushumi.Sharmin@wwu.edu
Dr. Jianna Zhang
Associate Professor

Robotics and Machine Learning

CF 481
MWF 3 - 4 PM
(360) 650-3845
Jianna.Zhang@wwu.edu